Algebraic Techniques for Combinatorial and Computational Geometry

March 10 - June 13, 2014

Seminar Series


Tuesday, March 18, 2014

3:30 - 4:30

Thursday, March 20, 2014

3:30 - 4:30
Kaloyan Slavov (American University in Bulgaria)

An application of the upper semicontinuity theorem


Tuesday, April 1, 2014

3:30 - 4:30
Dmitrii Zhelezov (Chalmers University of Technology)

Structural properties of sumsets and product sets


Thursday, April 3, 2014

1:50 - 2:50
Imre Barany (Renyi Institute of Mathematics)

On a geometric Ramsey number

3:30 - 4:30
Marta Narvaez Clauss (University of Barcelona)

Equidistribution of Galois orbits of points of small height


Tuesday, April 15, 2014

3:30 - 4:30
Ameera Chowdhury (Rutgers University)

The MDS Conjecture - Part I


Thursday, April 17, 2014

1:50 - 2:50
Janos Pach (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL))

From distances to graphs and back

3:30 - 4:30
Marina Iliopoulou (University of Edinburgh)

Counting joints and multijoints with multiplicities


Thursday, April 24, 2014

3:30 - 4:30
Ameera Chowdhury (Rutgers University)

The MDS Conjecture - Part II


Tuesday, April 29, 2014

2:00 - 3:00
Ehud Hrushovski (Hebrew University)

From groups to graphs


Thursday, May 1, 2014

3:30 - 4:30
Oliver Roche-Newton (University of Reading)

Variations on the sum-product problem


Tuesday, May 13, 2014

3:30 - 4:30
Frank de Zeeuw (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL))

Triple lines on curves


Thursday, May 15, 2014

3:30 - 4:30

Tuesday, May 27, 2014

3:30 - 4:30
Brendan Murphy (University of Rochester)

A triangle theorem for additive energy


Thursday, May 29, 2014

3:30 - 4:30
Abdul Basit (Rutgers University New Brunswick/Piscataway)

Incidences between sufficiently non-degenerate sets and applications


Tuesday, June 3, 2014

2:00 - 3:00
3:30 - 4:30
Brandon Hanson (University of Toronto)

Character sum estimates for Bohr sets