IPAM carries out its mission with the assistance and support of many people in a variety of roles.  The IPAM community consists of the directorate, staff, Science Advisory Board, Board of Trustees, and of course, program organizers, speakers, and participants, which are unique to each program. You can read about current members of the directorate and staff below.  Openings for associate director will be posted on this site every two or three years; staff openings are advertised on UCLA Campus Human Resources. The Science Advisory Board approves all scientific programs sponsored by IPAM.  The Board of Trustees approves the budget and plans for the upcoming year. Each board meets once a year and communicates with the Director regularly. Members serve four year terms. IPAM's directors are ex-officio members. The building directory includes all directors, staff and participants of the current long program with offices at IPAM.


Mitchell Luskin (University of Minnesota)

Sorin Popa (UCLA)


Alexander Szalay (Johns Hopkins University)

Petter Bjorstad (University of Bergen)

Richard Tsai (University of Texas at Austin)


Cecilia Clementi (Freie Universität Berlin)

Marina Meila (University of Washington)

Frank Noe (Freie Universität Berlin)

Anatole von Lilienfeld (University of Basel, Switzerland)

Steve Brunton (University of Washington)

Adam Oberman (McGill University)

Yat Tin (Raymond) Chow (UC Riverside)

Hamidou Tembine (New York University Abu Dhabi)

Wilfred Gangbo (UCLA)


Benni Seibold (Temple University)

Xuan (Sharon) Di (Columbia University)

Jianfeng Lu (Duke University)


Philip Kurian (Howard University)

Simons Postdocs 2021-22

  • Zhimeng Ouyang (University of Chicago)
  • Kevin Stubbs (University of California, Berkely)
  • Li Li (University of California, Irvine)

Simons Postdocs 2022-23

  • Srivatsav Kunnawalkam Elayavalli (University of California, San Diego)
  • Elisa Negrini (University of California, Los Angeles)
  • Minh Pham