Science at Extreme Scales: Where Big Data Meets Large-Scale Computing

September 12 - December 14, 2018

Seminar Series


Thursday, October 4, 2018

2:00 - 2:30
Erin Molloy (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

Scaling species tree estimation methods to large datasets using NJMerge

2:30 - 3:00
Philipp Haehnel (Trinity College Dublin)

Scaling up Deep Learning for PDE-based Models


Tuesday, October 9, 2018

2:00 - 2:30
2:30 - 3:00
Francisco Matos (Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics)

Gaussian Process Tomography with Deep Neural Networks


Thursday, October 11, 2018

2:00 - 2:30
2:30 - 3:00
James Levitt (University of Texas at Austin)

Sampling for Hierarchical Approximation of Kernel Matrices


Tuesday, October 23, 2018

2:00 - 2:30
Bastian Bohn (Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn)

Optimal data transformation for sparse grids

2:30 - 3:00

Thursday, October 25, 2018

2:00 - 2:30
2:30 - 3:00
Saerom Park (Seoul National University)

AI and Security: Adversarial Attacks and Defenses


Thursday, November 1, 2018

2:00 - 2:30
2:30 - 3:00
Longfei Gao (King Abdullah Univ. of Science and Technology (KAUST))

Machine Learning for PDE-based Applications?


Tuesday, November 13, 2018

2:00 - 2:30

Tuesday, November 20, 2018

2:00 - 2:30
Pietro Grandinetti (LegalKite)

Control of large-scale traffic networks

2:30 - 3:00

Tuesday, December 4, 2018

2:00 - 2:30
Chee Wei Tan (City University of Hong Kong)

Network Centrality as Statistical Inference in Large Networks


Thursday, December 6, 2018

2:00 - 2:30
2:30 - 3:00