IPAM Participants Awarded APS and MRS Awards

Posted on 11/1/16 in News

Alexei Kitaev

IPAM congratulates the following participants for their most recent achievements:

  • Alexei Kitaev (Caltech) won the 2017 Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize from the American Physical Society (APS). He was a speaker in two IPAM workshops: Topological Quantum Computing (2007) and Symmetry and Topology in Quantum Matter (2015).
  • Emily Carter (Princeton) was awarded the 2017 Irving Langmuir Prize in Chemical Physics from APS. She gave a public lecture at IPAM in 2013 (part of the Mathematics of Planet Earth series) and has been a speaker in several IPAM workshops.