National Academy of Engineering elects eight IPAM affiliates

Posted on 2/14/17 in News
Stéphane Mallat

Stéphane Mallat

Eight IPAM affiliates were recently elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). According to the NAE, “election to the National Academy of Engineering honors those who have made outstanding contributions to engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature and to the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/ implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.” Congratulations to:

  • Gerbrand Ceder (UC Berkeley)–organizer and speaker for a Chemical Compound Space for Materials workshop in 2011
  • Jingsheng Jason Cong (UCLA)–organizer for a workshop on Optimization in 2010
  • Leonidas J.Guibas (Stanford)–speaker for Shape Analysis workshop in 2016 and other past workshops
  • Yann LeCun (Facebook)–organizer and speaker for numerous IPAM programs, most recently for a workshop on Stochastic Gradient Methods in 2014; current Science Advisory Board member
  • Stéphane Mallat (École Normale Supérieure)–organizer for and core participant of the 2016 Many-Particle Systems with Machine Learning long program, and a speaker at a number of workshops over the years.
  • Arkadi Nemirovski (Georgia Tech)–organizer for Optimization long program in 2010
  • Harry Shum (Microsoft)–Board of Trustees member from 2007-2009
  • Philippe Spalart (Boeing)–speaker for workshop on Mathematics of Turbulence in 2014