Blackwell-Tapia Conference and Prize Presentation

November 5 - 6, 2004


This is the third in a series of biannual conferences honoring David Blackwell and Richard Tapia, two seminal figures who inspired a generation of African-American, Native American and Latino/Latina students to go into Mathematics. Carrying forward their work, this one and a half day workshop is designed to inform the next generation of students about career opportunities in Mathematics and to provide a chance for them to network with other students and with faculty members who play a leadership role in their communities.

The program will include a mix of activities, designed to provide participants considering a career in mathematics with a sense of the excitement the field provides and a chance to learn about specific opportunities:

  • A lecture directed at minority undergraduates by a popular lecturer, Richard Tapia
  • A poster session and reception at which young researchers can present their work
  • Short talks by graduate students and postdocs describing their research
  • Inspirational research lectures by Carlos Bustamante (Cornell University) and Trachette Jackson (University of Michigan)
  • The Blackwell-Tapia Prize recipient’s lecture
  • A festive meal at which the Prize will be formally presented and the recipient will respond
  • Numerous opportunities to meet new people, reconnect with old friends, and plug into a network of possible mentors

The Blackwell-Tapia Lectures and Prize are overseen by a long-term organizing structure supported by Cornell University and MSRI. We are grateful that funding for this program is being provided by these long-term sponsors with additional support from Arizona State University.  The “national” committee (listed below) select the prize winner.  The “local” organizing committee includes Herbert Medina (Loyola Marymount University) and Stephen Wirkus (California State Polytechnic University, Pomona).

Organizing Committee

Carlos Castillo-Chavez (Arizona State University and Cornell University)
Mark Green (IPAM)
William Massey (Princeton University)
Robert Megginson (Mathematical Sciences Research Institute)