Machine Learning for Physics and the Physics of Learning

September 4 - December 8, 2019

Seminar Series


Tuesday, September 17, 2019

2:30 - 3:00
Moritz Hoffmann (Freie Universität Berlin)

Generating Euclidean distance matrices

3:30 - 4:00

Thursday, September 19, 2019

2:30 - 3:00
Samson Koelle (University of Washington)

Collective coordinates with physical meaning

3:30 - 4:00 Journal Club

Tuesday, October 1, 2019

2:30 - 3:00
3:30 - 4:00
Andreas Mardt (Freie Universität Berlin)

Deep learning of molecular kinetics


Thursday, October 3, 2019

2:30 - 3:00
3:30 - 4:00 Journal Club: Reproducing Kernel Hilbert Spaces

Tuesday, October 8, 2019

2:30 - 3:00
Kathleen Champion (University of Washington)

Simultaneous discovery of coordinates and parsimonious dynamics

3:30 - 4:00
Stefan Klus (Freie Universität Berlin)

SINDy for classification problems


Thursday, October 10, 2019

2:30 - 3:00
3:30 - 4:00 Journal Club (Stephen Xie): How can we explain the predictions of a blackbox model?

Tuesday, October 22, 2019

2:30 - 3:00
3:30 - 4:00

Thursday, October 24, 2019

2:30 - 3:00
Anastasiya Salova (University of California, Davis (UC Davis))

Data-driven methods to study dynamics on complex networks

3:30 - 4:00

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

2:30 - 3:00
Maghesree Chakraborty (University of Rochester)

Systematic coarse-grained mapping selection

3:30 - 4:00
Xavier Brumwell (Michigan State University)

Wavelet Scattering for Materials


Thursday, November 7, 2019

2:30 - 3:00
Alex Goeßmann (Technische Universität Berlin)

Tensor Recovery and Machine Learning

3:30 - 4:00 Journal Club

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

2:30 - 3:00
Lukas Kades (Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg)

Importance Sampling of Complex Probability Distributions

3:30 - 4:00

Thursday, November 14, 2019

2:30 - 3:00
Jared Callaham (University of Washington)

Stochastic reduced-order modeling with applications

3:30 - 4:00 Journal Club

Tuesday, November 26, 2019

2:30 - 3:00
Luca Venturi (New York University)

TBA

3:30 - 4:00
Marc Stieffenhofer (Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research)

TBA