What’s New

IPAM Participants Awarded APS and MRS Awards

Posted on 11/1/16 in News

IPAM congratulates the following participants for their most recent achievements: Alexei Kitaev (Caltech) won the 2017 Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize from the American Physical Society (APS). He was a speaker in two IPAM workshops: Topological Quantum Computing (2007) and Symmetry and Topology […]

read full article
Alexei Kitaev

Yang Wang Appointed HKUST Dean of Science

Posted on 10/19/16 in News

Congratulations to Yang Wang as the newly appointed Dean of Science at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST)! As chair of the Math department at HKUST since 2014, Wang has been IPAM’s partner in organizing RIPS-Hong Kong, recruiting industry sponsors to contribute […]

read full article
Professor Yang Wang, Chairperson of Mathmatics at MSU.

Hinton, LeCun, and Ng Featured in Fortune Magazine Article on Deep Learning

Posted on 10/17/16 in News

Geoffrey Hinton, Yann LeCun and Andrew Ng are featured in a Fortune magazine article entitled “The AI Revolution: Why Deep Learning Is Suddenly Changing Your Life.” Programmers, like Hinton, LeCun, and Ng, have revolutionized artificial intelligence technology in both industry and academia by feeding computer […]

read full article
Yann LeCun3

Subhash Khot named MacArthur Fellow, Class of 2016

Posted on 9/22/16 in News

Subhash Khot (New York University) has been named a MacArthur Fellow for his work in providing critical insight into unresolved problems in the field of computational complexity. According to its website, the MacArthur Fellows Program awards unrestricted fellowships to talented individuals who have shown extraordinary […]

read full article