What’s New

Claire Tomlin elected to National Academy of Engineering

Posted on 2/8/19 in News

On February 7, 2019, the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) announced 104 newly elected members.  This is among the highest professional honors for engineers.  Members are elected for their “contributions to ‘engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature’ […]

read full article
Claire Tomlin (image courtesy MacArthur Foundation)

Women of 2018 RIPS Present at NCUWM

Posted on 1/30/19 in News

Four undergraduate participants of IPAM’s Research in Industrial Projects for Students (RIPS) Program presented their research at the 21st Annual Nebraska Conference for Undergraduate Women in Mathematics (NCUWM), held January 25 – 27, 2019, in Lincoln, Nebraska.  The conference is a program for undergraduate women […]

read full article

RIPS Students Win Awards at JMM 2019

Posted on 1/24/19 in News

IPAM’s 2018 RIPS and GRIPS alumni were well represented at the 2019 Joint Mathematics Meetings.  A total of seventeen student researchers from the Los Angeles, Hong Kong, and Sendai programs attended the conference in Baltimore, Maryland on January 16-18, 2019; they presented 7 posters and […]

read full article
Katherine Thai

White Paper: Science at Extreme Scales: Where Big Data Meets Large-Scale Computing

Posted on 1/9/19 in Reports

This white paper is an outcome of IPAM’s fall 2018 long program, Science at Extreme Scales: Where Big Data Meets Large-Scale Computing. Computing has revolutionized science: simulation, or model-based computing, has allowed us to investigate phenomena much more complex than theoretical analysis alone can access, […]

read full article
bdc2018 image